Immersion

Consider this…

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/robbiecooper/immersion-project/widget/video.html

Robbie Cooper’s ‘Immersion’, a series of photographs which capture the facial expressions of subjects immersed in watching TV or computer screens, is a frank and powerful examination of the multimedia age.

Recently he successful raised money via Kickstarter to expand his Immersion project to a large audience.

What do you think? A creepy look into our interactions with technology or a look into our individual worlds through our expressions?

5 thoughts on “Immersion

  1. It is interesting. I remember being fascinated watching through the french doors of our living room to see my siblings and in laws faces. I then thought, “I wonder what they are watching/ playing.” It is a bit creepy, but I assume everyone has given their approval. I know I give facial expressions of how I am disgusted by a show or commercial, so I think it will be an interesting study – I am just not sure I want to let them in my world.

  2. My brother and oldest son always stick out their tongue when they are concentrating on something really hard, i.e. hand writing, homework, etc. I noticed the tongues of some of these individuals when they were engaged in these screen activities. Twisting, turning, manipulating, biting, etc.
    Another feature that I really noticed was the odd appearance of their eyes. The majority of people had a wide eyed or glazed look in their eyes and was a little disturbing to look at.

  3. I agree with the above post. I thought the most disturbing part was the glazed over eyes. I know that I do it because sometimes my eyes get so dried out when I’m on the computer for awhile. I must forget to blink. Screens put us into trances.

    Fascinating idea though!

  4. I think it is fascinating really. In a way it reminds me of the old Candid Camera show or today’s Betty White’s Off Their Rockers. I know these shows are based on interactions with people or situations but their taped after the altercation are some of the funniest parts of the shows. I think we would be amazed at what we look like when we are concentrating on media, or anything else for that matter. I have watched kids play video games before and even those observing have some crazy facial expressions too! Roll camera… 🙂

  5. Well, first off, I can only imagine what goofy faces I make when I’m looking at the screen – especially if I’m watching media, but also if I’m reading documents or just looking at Facebook. I imagine I’d have a whole host of expressions while reading Facebook posts. Next, I get a little skeeved by the idea of video or photo being taken of me at a bank teller (although I know big brother is already watching me from the other side of THAT screen… I think I just don’t have to be worried that those pics will be published somewhere.). We might all learn some things, though. Robyn’s right. There were some pretty glazed over expressions in there.

Leave a Reply

