Week 2 (Due June 7th)

Digital Storytelling Project
You can tell any kind of story with this group project. My goal for this project is that you use  ’new-to-you’ technology tools to create a video that includes audio- narration and/or music sound track in class (although planning for this project should happen outside of class). There is no time requirement, although I recommend no more than 10 minutes.

Think of this assignment as practice for incorporating Digital Storytelling into your classroom. Your digital story can;

  • retell a story/fairy tale/myth/legend
  • retells a story about  a famous figure-Biography/place/event covered in your Standards
  • reflection on a life event
  • movie trailer for the documentary you hope to create in the future

Consider the following elements when planning and producing your Digital Story;

  1. Point of View – What is the main point of the story and what is the perspective of the author?
  2. A Dramatic Question – keeps the viewer’s attention and will be answered at the end.
  3. Emotional Content – issues that come alive in a personal way and connects the story to the audience.
  4. The Gift of Your Voice – personalize the story.
  5. The Power o the Soundtrack – music to support and embellish the story.
  6. Economy – using just enough content to tell a story without overloading the viewer.
  7. Pacing – the rhythm of the story and how slowly or quickly it progresses.

On Friday, we will demo software that you can use to produce/publish and promote.

Course Readings:

Rosenthal Tolisano, Silvia. “Digital Storytelling – Part I.” Langwitches Blog. N.p., Apr.-May 2008. Web. 11 June 2012. <http://langwitches.org/blog/2008/04/19/digital-storytelling-part-i/>.

Rosenthal Tolisano, Silvia. “Digital Storytelling – Part II.” Langwitches Blog. N.p., Apr.-May 2008. Web. 11 June 2012. <http://langwitches.org/blog/2008/04/25/digital-storytelling-part-ii/>.

Post a response on your blog:

1 – Share what Social Learning site you are using during this course. Describe why the tool will be helpful for your personal/professional learning. (Please include a image and hyperlink in this post)

2- Please bring headsets/laptops (if you would like to work outside the lab) to our next class. Here is a headset I like.

3 – Plan for Digital Imagery & Image Manipulation (Photoshop) in lab activity. Bring images that you may want to use and check out these ideas for inspiration.

Ideas: Explore perspectives; visualize similes; illustrate principles with self-portraits; place self in literature or history; create illustrations of principles or functions; use an improbable scene as a writing prompt

Optional:

Continue our conversation about Digital Natives/Residents & Digital Immigrants/Visitors in the comments section of this post.

“Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants”  Marc Prensky, On the Horizon (MCB University Press, Vol. 9 No. 5, October 2001)[7]

White, David S., and Alison Le Cornu. 2011. “Visitors and Residents: A New Typology for Online Engagement.” First Monday 16,9 (5 September). Available online at:http://firstmonday.org/htbin/cgiwrap/bin/ojs/index.php/fm/article/view/3171/3049.

5 thoughts on “Week 2 (Due June 7th)

  1. From a 2013 view, Marc Prensky’s 2001 article, Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants, looks like an outdated oversimplification now. At the time it might have been appropriate, since it got the discussion going about technology in the schools. I think since then most teachers have done a great job incorporating technology into their teaching, regardless of their age. Prensky painted a grim picture for anyone born before 1964, and I just don’t agree that there should be such a line drawn in the sand about teachers’ abilities.

    I do agree changes need to be made in how we teach the new generation. Sure, I have no doubts about that. It’s true, the old step-by-step or in series way is not as effective anymore. We have to cater to those who think faster and in parallel while helping those who need a little more time. Prensky says we need to teach approximation. I wholeheartedly agree that we need to teach that. It is a critical life skill we use every day. I love teaching approximation because it’s so real life, and it’s quick thinking on one’s feet.

    After Prensky’s indictment of anyone over the age of 49 (Whoa there!), it was with relief that I read David White and Alison Le Cornu’s 2011 peer-reviewed article Visitors and Residents: A new typology for online engagement. What a breath of fresh air! They saw personal online habits and abilities the same way as I do. One’s involvement in the virtual world is a continuum, not a hard line in the sand. White and Le Cornu were quite right to notice that even amongst the new generation there are varying degrees of comfort with technology, and not all children grasp the nuances at the same rate. Indeed “…there is as much variation within the digital native generation as between the generations.” As a cure for this problem, I wonder if streaming students according to their ease of learning and using technology might be helpful?

    I’m nearly an online resident myself, and I found hope in White and Le Cornu’s statement, “Visitors’ technical and intellectual skills in the pursuit of specific content may well be significantly more sophisticated than Residents’, regardless of their age.” I might be older, but that does not mean that I cannot manage to do quite well in some areas which would be important to students and others. Ability comes from practice and mindset. My mindset is that there is nothing the kids do that I cannot do, as long as I don’t give up. Of course I have a responsibility to respond to the new generation’s learning styles. I can bring wisdom to tech tasks, something they are new at cultivating. Anyone who writes me off as soon as they see my face is missing out on a lot.

  2. I’m feeling a little old and outdated after reading through Rosenthal Tolisano’s Digital Story Telling (Rosenthal Tolisano, Silvia. “Digital Storytelling – Part I.” Langwitches Blog. N.p., Apr.-May 2008. Web. 11 June 2012. .). The concepts of retelling stories and ideas orally are even older than how I felt when I looked at the blog! I agree and already knew that many older cultures taught generations of their offspring by using stories. When I looked over the blog, though, I felt old because there was SO MUCH GOING ON! I just don’t feel I have the mental capacity or desire to shift through so many tangentially related pieces of information all at once. I was overwhelmed. It’s the same feeling I get when I am in a large department store. I prefer a small boutique — one where a saleslady will show me exactly what I am supposed to wear with what. Tell me what to buy. Tell me the two or three ways I can alter my outfit. Don’t make me do that work. Sheesh!

    As soon as I can sit down and tackle all of that information, I’ll be back with more comments. Until then, wish me luck. I’m goin’ it!

    • OK, just like there were two parts of Digital Storytelling from Langwitches, you’re getting two responses from me! For some reason, Digital Storytelling Part II did NOT send me over the edge. What a helpful set of instructions, suggestions, and resources! Now I’m trying to come up with entertaining and useful stories to tell that go beyond Aaesop or the bible! Can’t wait to work with my group to create something fun and informative.

  3. I found an infographic called “Morphing into a 21st Century Teacher – 27 ways to be a better 21st Century Educator.” http://anethicalisland.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/morphing-into-a-21st-century-teacher-updated/ There are a few facts that pop out to me. To begin with, as we discussed on Friday in class we can have the mindset to be effective with technology and be willing to learn. One of the suggestions says “Be as tech savvy as your students.” This is important. Just because we know the students can do it, and we do not want to show complete control of the classroom by only allow tech in if we know it, it is beneficial for everyone to become tech savvy. It shows the students there is relevance to the technology besides at the social level. It is a great example to demonstrate safe and responsible uses for technology. A truly valuable phrase is “Contributors – Let the students contribute to their learning.” I like the idea that the students will contribute. This can be seen as participate, but there will be more ownership from their end of their learning. Finally, I like the idea of “create- have the students create movie trailers for a lesson.” This is a fun way for the students to utilize their creative parts with technology while getting excited about the topic. There are several others to provide food for thought. I would suggest taking a look at for yourself.

Leave a Reply

